Nashik Municipal Corporation Election 2017 Results

BJP emerged as clear winner in Nashik Municipal Corporation Election 2017 winning 66 out of 122 seats. Shiv Sena stood at 2nd position with 35 seats. Congress-NCP combined fared poorly with 6 seats each total of 12 seats. Raj Thackrey’s MNS which ruled Nashik for last 5 years got just 5 seats compared to 40 last time.

Notably, Raj Thackery and Udhhav Thackrey fought separately in Nashik which resulted in loss of almost 30 seats due to vote split. Talks of both parties forming a pre-poll alliance never got to any logical conclusion. As a result, both parties fielded candidates separately. BJP which has become stronger due to huge influx of leaders from NCP, Congress and MNS always had an upper hand. If Shiv Sena and MNS would have fought together the results could have been really different with alliance getting 70 out 122 seats. BJP’s tally of 66 could come down by 27 seats to 39!

The learning from these local election considering upcoming Assembly and Lok Sabha election is Shiv Sena and MNS must put serious thought to come together….

No comments:

Post a Comment